Main Jury of the PackTheFuture Award 2018 selects winners

Main Jury of the PackTheFuture Award 2018 selects winners

After the deliberations of the independent jury, the list of winning innovations for the 4th edition of the PackTheFuture Award 2018 is closed

The contest promotes the creative and innovative potential of the plastic and flexible packaging sector and has become a European reference in the packaging sector. It is organized in cooperation by the two professional associations: ELIPSO, the French Plastic and Flexible Packaging Association, and IK, the German Plastics Packaging Association.

Among the 48 files submitted this year, 30 files were first selected by the pre-jury composed of technical experts and packaging specialists who met on June 12 in Paris. The Main Jury, made up of consultants, journalists, scientists, professors, and packaging experts, deliberated on June 27 to pick the winners in each category:

• Eco Design
• Product Protection
• Social Benefit
• Save Food

The Chairman of the jury

“We would like to thank all participants for their support of the PackTheFuture Awards 2018. With their versatile innovations, they reflect the growing importance of sustainable packaging for the plastic packaging sector in Europe. The high number of entries in the category Eco Design underlines the increasing consideration of the circular economy by the companies”, comments the Chairman of the jury, Professor Horst-Christian Langowski of the Fraunhofer Institute for Process Engineering and Packaging in Freising.

The winners of this edition will be disclosed on November 27 at the PackTheFuture awards ceremony at the ALL4PACK trade fair in Paris, of which ELIPSO and IK are official partners this year. The press, partners, sponsors, winners and members of ELIPSO and IK, and members of the jury will be invited to this event.

WPO, The World Packaging Organization, has recognized the PackTheFuture Award as a qualifying contest for the WorldStar Awards: the largest packaging competition worldwide. The winners of this edition 2018 will be qualified to participate in the 2019 edition of the Worldstar Awards.